Reviews

Reviews from casting directors, producers and industry professionals:

“I’m truly impressed with what Urban Young Actors is offering to students. They’re so fortunate to have both a safe space to work on their craft and take risks, but at the same time, gain exposure to the industry and insights into the life of a working actor. I can’t wait to see what they do next!”

“I gained so much confidence at Urban. It didn’t happen overnight but I gradually started to improve and enjoy myself by taking risks and acting silly. Having gained that confidence at UYA, I then succeeded in getting a place at The Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts.”

“Urban are a lovely group to work with. They are attentive and responsive with some exciting emerging talent.”

“It’s really interesting now, as a musician, how something like acting and drama skills can correlate with something like music. I am really grateful for my time at Urban.”

“I came to Urban as a 13-year-old energetic and mischievous kid, not knowing anything about acting. Without Urban there is no way I would’ve even been able to make a dent in the industry.”

“Urban has increased my confidence and depth as an actor, a performance-maker and as a person. Our sessions provided me with a real buzz and sense of belonging, and I could not imagine growing up without the refuge and freedom to play provided by Urban in my life. I have not only met collaborators who I continue to make work with but I have also made lifelong close friends. Years later I still receive support from the Urban tutors who continue to offer advice and support and forward on opportunities.”

“There are a whole host of reasons why I would recommend Urban Young Actors. Firstly, the willingness to help with finding exactly what you need for your production. Secondly, the quality of talent that they identify and nurture is of a superb level. And last but not least, they help with the process of recruiting and working with their young actors in a professional environment to an extremely helpful degree.”

EXCELLENT
46 reviews on
Keith Allott
Keith Allott
07/11/2023
UYA are a fantastic organisation with the young person's experience at the centre of what they do. They provide high quality learning and employment opportunities for their young participants and support them in their professional growth. As a filmmaker of over twenty years experience, I would give them the highest recommendation.
Natalia
Natalia
05/11/2023
Urban young actors is the most welcoming and supportive environment for upcoming actors. I can’t recommend urban enough to anyone. They are so inclusive and friendly and have helped my confidence and ability immensely. I was only at urban for a couple months due to leaving to go to uni and within those months I grew not only as an artist but as a person. This is the perfect place to go for acting and for confidence and socialising while working on your performance side.
Grace Ford
Grace Ford
29/09/2023
I cannot recommend Urban enough. This group has supported me for 7 years now and I cannot emphasise how fantastic they are. Every single member is given the unique support they need to grow their confidence as an individual and a performer which truly does create the most incredible family. I have made friendships for life at Urban and will cherish my memories from it. The experience I have gained from Urban has also allowed me to start perusing a career in the acting industry and I could not be where I am now without them. Urban really is one of its kind and if you need a sign to join then this is it.
Alissia Morar
Alissia Morar
28/09/2023
Lovely environment. Teachers as well as students were great people to learn from and with!
Helena Walton
Helena Walton
21/09/2023
Thank you Kieran and Katie for the two fantastic years my daughter spent at Urban Young Actors. She is now on to the next phase of her acting journey having secured a place on an acting course at University. Your teaching, help, support and advice has been invaluable. She is living her dream. Thank you so very much. Helena.
Vicky Agyen
Vicky Agyen
08/09/2023
I remember first joining urban and being welcomed to such a vibrant environment, being surrounded by people with such a strong passion for acting. Urban is literally an environment where you can be unapologetically yourself and grow as an actor. I remember being so nervous in the beginning but with the help of the two amazing drama teachers - (Kieron and Katy) I have honestly grown and learnt so much coming here to urban and this place has genuinely contributed to increasing my confidence and creativity. Everyone here is so friendly so it’s not hard to make friends at all and the one thing I truly admire about urban is its love for creativity and in our sessions being exposed to new ways of thinking and expressing ourselves as actors. And I find that so important, that as an actor your love for creativity should still be firey and alive and I believe that urban young actors does a very good job of that for example through the use of team work and coming up with crazy but cool ideas and having to improvise and then perform. I would highly recommend urban young actors as it is a place that will provide you with really good opportunities such as theatrical and film projects and also working with people who are great in the industry. It is also such an intimate setting that provides you with the comfort to grow and I’m truly grateful for the past two years of coming to urban as I do not regret it at all. And I urge people who have a passion to get into acting , to come here as it is such a helpful and wonderful experience !
Lilian Avram
Lilian Avram
01/09/2023
Urban has helped me gain great confidence over the course of 2 years and provided me with amazing opportunities and training I wouldn’t have had elsewhere. UYA creates such a safe space to be creative and push your limits as an actor and I wouldn’t have been able to secure a place at drama school without the support of Keiran and Katie! Urban really is one big family and I feel certain I’ll be supported with everything I do even after I’ve said goodbye.
Celeste Walton
Celeste Walton
01/09/2023
I had an absolutely amazing two years at Urban and loved every session, I have immensely progressed not only as an actor but as a person thanks to these guys, I’ll be forever grateful!! (Also it’s just so much fun) :)))
Lucy Saunders
Lucy Saunders
05/08/2023
Urban Young Actors is a safe space for people to come and explore acting in many different forms. You build friendships for life and the sessions are always light hearted, fun and leaves you laughing til everything hurts. I really enjoyed my time at Urban and I appreciate the opportunities it has given me and for bringing out my confidence more than anything else has. The tutors at Urban don’t stop until they think you’ve done your best which only makes you a better actor and a better version of yourself. They work so hard and put so much effort into their projects for the sake of their members. They see potential in every single person and they make sure everyone is included and is involved so they get the best out of their experience. I can’t recommend joining enough!

© Copyright - Urban Young Actors Ltd - All Rights Reserved (2020)